Light-O-Rama Forums

Adding dmx lasers

RickyBobby407

I am looking to add lasers to my show for next year. I have no idea about dmx or lasers. I currently run 5 LOR pro1602 controllers. If I buy the LOR dmx bridge will it control the dmx laser?

If you have no idea about lasers... learn BEFORE you buy.   Something that is in the 5mW range is of no real issue.. higher than that and you are required by law to deal with a lot more issues that you obviously know.  Start reading.  Look up ILDA.  International Laser Display Assoc. They may have some info that would help you.

• 2 months later...

All anyone on here will tell you is "Lasers are dangerous BLAH BLAH BLAH"

But I'll help you out.  I have been running a high powered laser for the last 2 years and it looks awesome!  Yes it's expensive but it's worth it.

Things to know

Any laser machine over 5 milli watts (mw) is required to be FDA approved in the US.  meaning you will have to obtain a Variance License to legally operate the thing.

I bought a 450 mw RGB laser from X-Laser and it is awesome.  the thing i really like about X-Laser is that all their products are FDA approved and you can get a Variance kit from them for $50!  that is an awesome deal.  if you buy a laser machine from china you wont be able to legally use it in a public setting and fines can be thousands of dollars so be carful.

Controlling The Laser -

You can control the laser with LOR using the iDMX but you will only be able to choose from the lasers internal patters.  this may be fine but for me it wasn't enough (not to mention it can be more difficult to use LOR). I decided to buy a laser with an ILDA interface so I could have more control over the laser using another software called quick show.  Pangolin Quick Show allows you to create your own designs and patterns and it is really powerful so check it out.