Light-O-Rama Forums

Basic Equipment and Terminology Questions

Muskrat42

Total newbie here and I have some pretty basic questions.  I am not even sure of the terminology, which makes it tough to search for answers on here.  Please bear with me.

I have ordered the Showtime Central Starter Package

• ShowTime Central with miniDirector and FM Transmitter
  • S3 Basic Plus Suite License
  • USB Adapter and USB filtered cable
  • 30 Amp ReadyToGo 16 channel light controller
  • 50' Cat5 cable to connect Director and light controller

with 2 additional 16 channel controllers (for a total of 48 channels) and the Plug n Show SD card.

1. What is a "director"?

2. With the LOR Basic Suite software, I can edit the arrangement (sequences?) on my computer, then just plug the card back into the 1st controller when I have finished editing?

3. Using 3 controllers daisy chained together, does only the first one need an SD card? Are there any other accessories I need for the additional controllers?  Do the additional controllers from LOR come with CAT5 cables?

4. I have the option of locating all of the controllers together under a patio roof to keep them out of the weather - or - Installing them spread out across my display so they are closer to the light strands each controls. (Reducing the lengths of the extension cords and minimizing cords running over walkways and the driveway) Which option is recommended?

5. What is it called when the lights on a strand come on individually to give the illusion of flow?

6. Can I download the editing software to multiple computers or is it a one time download license?

Thanks in advance for any assistance or advice you can give! I am excited to get started, but as you can tell, I'm clueless.  :)

Michael

Total newbie here and I have some pretty basic questions.  I am not even sure of the terminology, which makes it tough to search for answers on here.  Please bear with me.

I have ordered the Showtime Central Starter Package