Light-O-Rama Forums

Understanding E1.31 & SanDevices

CLD Kevin

I’ve been reading and reading on E1.31 (about 5 hrs). First, all the topics and I’m looking for is spread over which seems like hundreds of post and wish there was a sticky to cover this. Although I’ve been using LOR and DMX for several years, E1.31 is brand new….never touch nor read anything on it. I think I’ve found my answers to most of my questions but a few couldn’t find, so want to confirm what I found just to make sure I’m on the correct path.

I have both E6804 & E682. Below were questions towards the E6804, but some should apply to the E682.

Power:

·   5V or 12V

·   30A Max power

·   V+, Grd, Data for 3-wire lights….Clk not needed (ex: 2811)

·   V+. Gnd, Data, Clk for 4-wire lights (ex: 2801)

Universes:

·  7 Universes in Multi-cast

·  12 Universes Uni-Cast

·  510 Pixels or 3 Universes or 1530 Channels per output  x 4 (2040 pixels or 6144 Channels total for E6804)

So to my questions…

·  Didn’t see how to setup multi SanDevices. Assuming that each device IP address is different? So if Device#1 is 192.168.1.206, would I make Device#3 192.168.1.207 or whatever IP address I choose?

·  Can I use different protocols/adapters/dongles at the same time? E1.31, RS485, DMX (Enttec), ect. For example, E1.31 for SanDevice, RS485 for LOR Controllers and DMX for Moving heads or 3-ch DMX modules. I understand I can use the E1.31 for DMX devices and LOR controllers too, but if I already have these things built to work in a single DMX universe using an Enttec Pro, I don’t want to rebuild anything. Don’t think it would hurt to leave as-is.

·   Network Switch: Needed if using multi SanDevices. Will 10/100 be okay or use one that has 10/100/1000 capabilities?

·   Max distance from PC to SanDevice? 300ft?