Light-O-Rama Forums

Whole House Transmitter

Rick Childers

I have been doing this since 2007, but this is the first year that I have actually had enough time to actually get it done to music, I hope. I am gong to be using the Whole House Transmitter 2.0, does anyone have tips for getting the best transmission? I am going to be away for the next few hours, I have to take my wife to a nice dinner for buying me three blow mold snowmen, and letting me buy a nice LED snow man yesterday.

If you haven't already purchased the Whole House Transmitter you may want to consider buying an EDM. I bought the WH transmitter last year and did not like the results. I picked up an EDM about a month ago and it tested much better then the Whole House Transmitter ever did.

I have had it for a year now. I intended to use it last year, but did not get everything ready in time. How much is the EDM? I am already so far over my light budget it is ridiculous.

You can shop for EDMs here...

http://www.edmdesign.com/orders.html

To answer your original question about getting the best sound out of the Whole House ... Have you already picked out the FM channel you want to broadcast on. The WH came with instructions on how to cut the antenna to the proper length for the channel you've chosen. Then there's the booster switch that's located under the batteries. Otherwise I'd try and get the antenna located as high and close to the street as possible. Mine seemed to work fine right outside the house but would fade as soon as you were more than fifty or sixty feet away. I had mine located at a front window. Hope that helps.

I bought a WHT, worked with their tech support to milk every last bit of power out of it and still could not reach the street. Went to BlackBoxMobile Eclipse 4000.