Light-O-Rama Forums

Leaving controllers outdoors

Guest guest

Im brand new to animated lighting and the city I work for is letting me do theres this year. There really is no place close where I can put the controllers in a building and was just going to build some stands for them..would they be ok in the elements? Also going to have a laptop that will probably be in a old signal light cabinet with the fm transmitter..anyone know how laptops do in the cold?

Thank you in advance for any help you can give a newbie :)

Many of us have our controllers outside, the weather is generally the lesser of two evils-theft is the real culprit. I have "successfully run a controller in 3/4" of water and is survived-not a recommenced practice but it does indicate the endurance of the boards.

Your second problem of the PC would be easier if you used a MP3 unit ( LOR1602W with MP3 ) and a timer to start and end the show.

http://store.lightorama.com/lowishdiandm.html

I used this last year in a remote show so that I did not have t o be concerned about the PC being up and running every night. Simply build your show, down load it to an SD card, insert in the MP3 player and you are ready to go.

Well that makes me feel alot better I really thought it would be a big deal to get the controllers in something that would keep them safe from the elements now all I need to worry about is the laptop :)

Thanks for your quick reply Bill, I may have to look into getting one of the mp3 director units...keep your fingers crossed for me :)

I personally wouldn't have the controllers anywhere BUT outside. Truth be told -- people don't know what they are, so they're likely going to be left alone. Now as our displays become more common, this might change, but I"m guessing you're much more likely to have vandals trash your display or steal objects than lose a controller, which is likely just going to be assumed to be a boring electrical junction box.