Light-O-Rama Forums

Total newbiw feels wrong asking about sequences.

Jo Stalin

Hi I'm Jo Stalin.  You can call me Jo, or Stalin, or Uncle Jo...  anything that you like really.

So I got a 16 channel LOR controller for my birthday which will upgrade an old 6  "Mr. Christmas" box that played programmed tunes out loud.   I have the an FM transmitter on the way.   I have found quite a few sequences online that look great.  I just don't have the expertise to sequence yet and I am not going to learn in in 3 weeks!  Plus I have to plan, purchase, and set up my first display.  Sure it's a lot of work, but I friggin love it!

I see lots of folks talking about great sequences that I would love to have, but the idea of coming on here and just asking for stuff seems tacky to me.  After all, I just got here and I've contributed nothing.

What's the best way to go about this?   Is it alright for a newbie to just chime in on these sequence threads and ask for copies via email?

Everyone has had to start somewhere. there are links to loads of free sequences available to download and you can get some ideas on how to sequence. The biggest issue I have is there are far too many people that ask for sequences and never bother to give credit to the person who did the work. When I started 8 years ago I had 16 channels and 4 sequences and added every year. I started sequencing in January for my December show. The other alternative is to purchase sequences and setup your display to match. Your correct that it's a lot of work but most people start months in advance for Christmas.

Thanks for the reply.   Yeah, I can see how this will eat up some time. Its addictive though!  I did a quick 1st attempt and made a 3 channel sequence to the Michigan fight song for a feature I plan to add this year.  It ate up 3 hours like nothing!

May I ask, how do you give someone proper credit?  I really have no idea.