Light-O-Rama Forums

Mixing RGB LED lights with incandescent

gspence

I'm interested to hear from people who have a mix of RGB LED lights and incandescent lights to see how you are going about matching the RGB colors to the rest of your display. This is my first year adding some RGB strip lights to the display and they are so much brighter than the incandescent that they sort of stand out like a sore thumb.

For example, when I want my RGB LED strips to be red, I need to set them to about 64 so they match the brightness of the red incandescent bulbs. Green needs to be set around 32. When I want to display white, all 3 channels at 255 is WAY different than white incandescent bulbs. I've found that the closest color value to match my white incandescents is 64,32,3.

What I've found when trying to work with the RGB lights in LOR S3 is that its very hard to see what is going on because the intensity's are so low. The visual editor barely displays any color on the screen with these values and my saved tools are unrecognizable.

Is anyone else running into this issue? There are a few ideas I'd like to see that would make it easier to work with RGB lights.

1. Apply an intensity change to a range of events equally. For example: Reduce intensity by 50%. All events selected would have their values cut by 50% equally. This would preserve fades and other effects.

2. Set a max DMX value per track. For example: I'd set my red channel to have a max DMX value of 64. So now I can work in LOR's scale of 0-100 but setting the value to 100 would translate to 64 in DMX. This feature alone would allow me to fix all my tracks pretty easily I think.

3. Apply names/labels to my saved tools so things like color fades could have text over them. This way if they are very similar and visually indistinguishable, I could label them and choose the tool by reading the text label.