Light-O-Rama Forums

Private Sequencing Lessons

bgwyn

Hello I am a newbie to animation. I will be purchasing 4 LOR Controllers in a few weeks and I am super pumped to turn my static Christmas into an animated masterpiece. I have talked to Drew Hickman and the closest LOR workshop is in Denver, CO and only 4 people have signed up.....ARG! I want to get started soon so I will be ready by Thanksgiving. Is there anyone within 8 hrs driving distance from the Texas Panhandle who might give me some private sequencing lessons (weekend) so I get a nice start to this hobby? I would like someone to help me plan my design and then teach me some software sequencing tricks of the trade. I can go to you or possibly you to me might be best.

There will be a S3 class at the Ultimate Academy in Conroe TX. I thought is was Drew who was doing the class. Check it out at www.theultimateacademy.com

Yes I know about the academy and it was very attractive to me. But Drew told me I would be better off in the 2 day class in Denver since the academy's class will be full of experienced hobbyist and they will be moving pretty fast. Price is negotiable.;)

Monkey see, monkey do (and the monkey do part is the most important--just biting the bullet and playing with it is the most useful).

Watch each of these videos, and then after each one open your sequence editor and do what you just saw in the video. Doubt you will learn this much in the class, and you can rewind/replay the video as much as you need (unlike the class). Lot cheaper, and takes a lot less time. I think that you will realize that it isn't as intimidating as you thought it would be.

http://www.lightorama.com/S3TutorialLinks.html

http://www.lightorama.com/Documentation.html#Quick_Start_Guides

I will throw in my endorsement for Surfing4Dough's recommendation.