Light-O-Rama Forums

Confused about maximum number of channels you can use

marsh28

Newbie here. I plan on purchasing a 32 channel controller. I have started to sequence using the software and have left one channel open to put in the beats for the song I'm using. The other 31 channels will all be playing lights. I have heard that you should leave a "few" channels open (ie. that don't control lights) but don't know if this is right. For example, if you had a 32 channel controller, could you run lights on all 32 channels?

Well, 32 channels will actually be 2 controllers. You can use all 32. In the sequencer, you can have as many channels as you want. I put in unassigned channels to use for beat tracks and seperators between props. It helps organize your channels .

I also assign a channel that IS NOT associted with a controller as the beat channel.

Once I have finished the sequence though, I remove those beat tracks from the sequence as I feel they are no longer needed and just add to the size of the sequence file.

And using an DC-MP3 Showtime Director and putting the sequences on an SD card, I want the sequence file the hardware utility creates to be as small as possible.

Now if there was just a way to compress an MP3 file down to a smaller size without degrading the audio within! Since some 2-3 minute files are quite large and some I have run almost 5 minutes, are very large MP3 files. Even if dropped to the minimum 128kbps limits, they still remain quite large. Would be great if they could be compressed to at least 1/2 their original size, maintain their audio integrity and take up less real estate on the SD card!

To add on to what Orville said, when you create a new file, assign 33 channels to it. This will be your 32 usable channels, and the 33rd channel will be your 'beat' channel. As you program each channel, you simply just ignore that step for the 33rd beat channel.

Definitely use all your channels if you have the lighting available to do so!