Light-O-Rama Forums

Musical or Animation

martinmc

OK, complete newbie question here, I downloaded the software and have been working on sequencing music for a halloween setup.

My question is should i be creating the sequences in Musicial or Animation, i was looking at some help info the other night and noticed differences between the 2 like loops etc.

So far i have created everything in Musical (because its the 1st option) and can i move it Animation if i need to. Have looked in help topics but couldn't find anything, that made sense anyhow .

I guess my main question is what is the main difference between both !!!!!..... (got to be something major am missing otherwise why offer a option??)

In "Musical" you are sequencing to a song (or other audio) where "Animation" has no MP3 attached to it...and does not give you an option to add one.

Loops are parts of a sequence (or even the whole sequence) that you can "loop" or play over and over a set amount of times.

If you are looping a portion of your sequence, you can have it repeat (for example) four times before playing the rest of the sequence. You can have many loops within a sequence.

So if you want an hour of an Animated sequence, you could essentially sequence just 1 minute and then have it "loop" 60 times for a full hour of sequenced lights.

"Looping", I believe, only works for an animation sequence.

GREAT,

Thanks Jim, at least i know all the work i have done so far has been in the right editor. What I need to do is start learning all the keyboard short cuts, am on a fast learning curve (finished my halloween Trunk or Treat sequences) and having constant help in the forum is great.

Jim is absolutely correct. Looping and some other features only work in the animation sequence. I will sometimes use an animation sequence for a filler between songs or between shows. The muscial and animation sequences ARE NOT INTERCHANGEABLE!