Light-O-Rama Forums

My new adventure

ctmcpeak700

I am about to purchase 2 controllers and the fm transmitter.  I have already downloaded the software and have been playing with the sequence editor.  I have plenty of power (400 amp service and no less than 6 empty breakers).  I am an electrician (mostly industrial and commercial).  So that part is all set.

Here's my question:  What kind of lights do I need to buy?  Will simple led's work? Or do I need some sort of special lights?  Has anyone ever bought lights on eBay?  If so, is there a fairly reputable seller that you could recommend?

My house is a 2-story colonial with 2 columns on the front, a sunroom (with a balcony above it), shrubs running on either side of the front door, and shrubs running perpendicular to the house out to the street.  There is also a chimney and dormer on the roof line.

LED's are best if you don't mind the initial investment. Make sure that they are full wave lights 120hz. Here is a link to some of the vendors we buy from on a regular basis...http://www.highcountrylights.com/christmas-resources/pre-sale-info.html

Great link / info.

Thanks for sharing.

I use many retail LED's too, with good results.

Just stay away from the MSF's ( Martha Stewart LED's tend to burst into flames- so I've been told. So - Martha Stewart Flammers).

Welcome to this great hobby.

If the transmitter says "Whole House". Thats just what it means, whole house, but not yard too.

Bahahahahahahahahahaha!!!!

And Max was being very generous and gracious.  If you're looking for a transmitter that can actually reach the street (not including how far you can throw it) there are better options. Go to Amazon and search for CZH-05B.

Edited by George Simmons