Light-O-Rama Forums

Can you change a LOR controller ID without the software suite?

canadianchristmas

Hi everyone,

Its been a long time since I've been on here and have taken a 3 year break from light shows but I am planning on coming back for 2020..

So my question is can I change a LOR controller ID without using the LOR software suite? Is there a standalone program available to change just the controller ID? I don't need any test utilities or anything fancy, just something to change the ID. I have one V2 LOR controller, that I've been running in DMX mode since 2015, and I do not use any LOR related software at this point.. So I don't have a current or even active license for the sequencer or more importantly the hardware utility.

I still have a USB RS485 LOR dongle so the hardware is there. 

If there is anyway to do this that would be great.

Thank you so much for any help in advance, and Merry Christmas!

Controllers with dip switches can set the ID as the dip switches override the software. However, it takes the Hardware Utility to set the ID for those without dip switches, no way around it.

2 minutes ago, Mr. P said:

Controllers with dip switches can set the ID as the dip switches override the software. However, it takes the Hardware Utility to set the ID for those without dip switches, no way around it.

Ah.. That sucks I have one of the planet christmas models without the dip switches..

Is there any hardware utility type of program available for free?

I'm sorry if I'm sounding stingy... But it's just not really worth the money in my opinion to have to spend $40 USD just to buy software to assign a single controller a new ID.

Anyway, Thank you so much for the quick response! :) 

LOR software is actually free to play with in Demo mode, you just can't save things. Try using the LOR HU and see if it will set the ID in the Demo version, I don't know as it has been many many years since I used Demo mode.

2 minutes ago, Mr. P said: