Light-O-Rama Forums

Running two networks

Mscannic

So I think I need to set up two networks - one to run standard lights and one to run the pixie 16 controller.  So I think I've pieced together that one runs on the red adapter and one can run on the black.  But how does the com controller recognize both?  and is there anyway to run this from the mini director or do you have to run it from your computer every night since the mini director doesn't have two network plugs...

You are correct that the mini-director has only one data port, so you can't run two networks from it.  There are more advanced directors that have multiple ports - but I have no experience with any director.

Personally I have always used a computer to run my shows.  For Christmas,  I run three LOR networks plus about 130 universes of E1.31.

3 hours ago, Mscannic said:

So I think I need to set up two networks - one to run standard lights and one to run the pixie 16 controller.  So I think I've pieced together that one runs on the red adapter and one can run on the black.  But how does the com controller recognize both?  and is there anyway to run this from the mini director or do you have to run it from your computer every night since the mini director doesn't have two network plugs...

Let me add this.

If all you have to run your show is the mini director

In a pinch you can run your pixie16 and more on one network. Until you can get one with more ports or a computer.

A few years ago I had an emergency computer failure 2 days in to Christmas or HAlloween. I had my old mini director and used it to control a couple pixie16's a pixie8 and a bunch od AC controllers. There was only one song that I could def tell was really affected by it. I used it the entire Holiday.

Note all of my controllers were G3 and all ran on the 500K enhanced network.

Just an FYI

JR

10 hours ago, Mscannic said: