Light-O-Rama Forums

Controlling Inflatables

Donl1150

I want to have an inflatable in my show.  It would come on at the start of the show after a brief narrative introduction and then deflate at the end of the show.  It would stay on the entire duration of the show.  I am not sure where/how to make this happen.  In the Show Editor, do I put it in the Background, Startup or Animation section?  I have never used those sections before.

LOR controllers are not designed to run a motor.  You would need to hook up a relay to do this.

One option is to modify the inflatable so that the motor and lights are separate.   This way you can control the light in the inflatable without starting/stopping the motor.  When I use inflatables, I like to leave them on all the time because the look good in daylight.

A couple of options.  You could have a background sequence that turns runs in all the sequences to keep the inflatable channel on.   A startup and shut down sequence is also a possibility.  I have not used either, so I am not sure how they behave.

I run a 26' inflatable Christmas Tree and an 18' Santa which tower above my "Tune To" sign. The two inflatable have their own extension cord and stay on for the entire show, I just plug them in separately.

Edited by Mr. P

I have used my controllers to run inflatables for Christmas and Halloween. One change I make is in the Hardware Utility, change the channel function from LOR Standard to ON/OFF only. Been running this way for many years without an issue

8 minutes ago, jwblazek said:

I have used my controllers to run inflatables for Christmas and Halloween. One change I make is in the Hardware Utility, change the channel function from LOR Standard to ON/OFF only. Been running this way for many years without an issue

Remember to check the nameplate current on your inflatable. I would leave a goodly  safe margin and not exceed 4A continuous run because of the motor . Are the lights in these on a separate cord?