Light-O-Rama Forums

Sequence Lagging

DCHMRT

Hi all! Need some help with my show

i am experiencing some major lag in my shows. To the untrained eye I’m sure it’s not that bad for most of the songs but it’s driving me nuts! One song my matrix plays fine with SE but during the actual show takes 10 seconds to “catch” up.

I am running S4 and have separated everything out to different networks in an attempt to rid the Lag. My show is all RGB running a combination of Pixcon 16 and pixie 16. In the Network Config, I put everything to 500k with enhanced networks minus my CCP tree which is made up of original LOR CCP

Anything I can do to fix it? 

Thanks! 

I'm not an expert yet, but curious...if you are 500k then you have an enhanced adapter connected to your usb port not the 485 standard adapter?  sorry if this sounds dumb.

There is no difference in adapters for Enhanced vs non-Enhanced.  The Black adapters are only guaranteed to work up to 115K speed and the Red adapters can operate up to at least 1000K speed.

DCHMRT, can you give a little more detail on your networking - specifically how many pixels (or channels) are on each network, and the speeds.

You imply that you running your CCPs at a slower speed because they are original CCPs.  FYI, I bought my CCPs on the first day that they were available and run them on a 500K Enhanced network just fine.  I did have to update firmware in order to support Enhanced networking when I started using that when S4 came out.

Are you using Intensity files for your sequences?

The other thing to look at is your show computer.  Bring up the Windows Task Manager while the show is running.  What is the CPU loading?  I ran into that problem in 2015 on my old and slow show computer.  CPU loading was maxed out.  Changed my sequences to use Intensity files (I Sequence in SuperStar), and CPU loading dropped to less that 20%.

K6ccc-