Light-O-Rama Forums

To ground or not to ground your mega tree

GriswoldStyle

Do any of you all out there that use black Iron pipe for your mega tree have a ground wire on it? My tree will actually be implanted 3 to 4 ft into the ground through a sleeve that will be rooted with concrete for easy installation each year but I'm wondering if I should still put a ground wire on it. I just read in another Forum somebody said they ground their mega tree. so this brings me to the question of do I really need to do that?

I am in Florida and my tree will extend up 16 to 17 ft above ground. I never grounded my tree when I was using top rail. but this year I'm going with sturdier black iron pipe so I'm wondering if any of you put a ground wire on your tree.

I'm not an electrician so I figured I would ask you guys what you think.

You get lightning there.  We hardly ever here so hardly anyone worries about grounding stuff.  From what I have seen of Florida, EVERYTHNG gets grounded.  I have been amazed when visiting Epcot center and everything more than about 10 feet high has lightning rods.  They take it real seriously.  Essentially you will be putting up a 17 foot lightning rod.  If it were me, I would ground it (really seriously too).

• Like 1

We get lots of lightning, thunder storms, tornados and all the fun stuff here. My 22' pixel MT has been outside in its shape standing next to my house for 1.5 years (exactly where I placed it the day I picked it up. Hasn't been hit and its not grounded.

The same as my 20' mt is a tower so its taken apart. But not grounded when used. We don't remember getting much lightning during the winter months unless that stray tornado blows through.

My 20' CCR tree is stored inside after the season.

Being surrounded by water though and the varying temps you get its probably a good bet to ground yours. That soil should be easy to get an 8' -10' rod in.

JR

• Like 1