Light-O-Rama Forums

New to rgb Where do you find decent "Dumb Nodes"

GriswoldStyle

Hello all, Yet another question I figured I would ask. I just went out to my tombstones in the garage for Halloween and found out the rgb reels I got of 5050 leds are not going to curve around the tombstones. So what I am thinking is trying the dumb rgb nodes as I have seen them called. I plan on using a CMB24 to control the headstones for Halloween since there will be 8 headstones. I know many suggest pixels but that will be later in time. I'm just starting to learn rgb so I was going to stick with that for Halloween since I already ordered the plug n show 8 floods kit. That way the additional card is only $100 for the tombstones.

My question is, Where do I find decent sets of 50 dumb nodes? I see they are close to the same price as pixels on aliexpress but I do not know much about this stuff yet as this will only be year number 3 for me on LOR. I know the pixels say "addressable" In all honesty I have no clue what that means. Forgive my newness to the terms. I would assume that means you can control each one individually. However, Can you control them all at once instead? Say for example, Can I use them as dumb nobes so all light up the same color at once with a cmb24? 

Sorry to sound dumb but we all start somewhere right?

I hope I am not taking on too much at once but I plan to work on a singing face this week and then the tombstones in a couple months. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Edited by GriswoldStyle

I found a couple different ones online but I am not sure about the whole pixel thing. If I am just looking for nodes are those the same as pixels> Or do they absolutely have to be addressable. I'm just trying to have all the same color at once for tombstones