Light-O-Rama Forums

FM transmitter

DOC

My FM transmitter is transmitting fine except for their is a lot of ststic when vocals are heard or the music is loud   any suggestions to fix problem    i have tried several stations but same result

Try turning down the volume on your computer.  If the computer is too loud, it will over modulate and create static.  Hope this helps.

• Like 1

Turn down the audio level to the transmitter.  One of two things is happening.  Either you are sending so much audio to the transmitter that the audio stage of the transmitter is being distorted, or the transmitter is able to handle the audio level, but it is badly over-modulated with will cause the distortion in the receivers.  If you want the technical details I can supply them (radio is what I do for a living).

I'd also check the cable between your audio source and the transmitter.  I was getting a lot of distortion on my transmitted audio one year that I narrowed down to a bad cable.

BTW, if turning down the volume does not help, PM me a phone number and I'll give you a call.  Radio is what I do for a living (on the technical side), and I have worked as a broadcast engineer.  I should be able to help.

14 hours ago, DOC said:

My FM transmitter is transmitting fine except for their is a lot of ststic when vocals are heard or the music is loud   any suggestions to fix problem    i have tried several stations but same result

I had this issue before and I used a longer cable between the transmitter and the audio source and it took care of the problem. Let us know if you get it figured out please.