Light-O-Rama Forums

Getting started with RGB

wicket82

I am thinking about trying to get into RGB. I know people “make their own” by buying the different components separate and them adding them together. Basically building your own controller and all. I see the pixel boards for sell on LoR. I would like to stick with LoR for the boards if possible as I think they would work with my current LoR controllers easier. My question is if bought the board from LoR and then got the following pixels and power supply from Amazon, would they work? I am new to RGB and I am confused about it all. I’m not sure what power supplies work with boards. I was thinking about getting the Pixie4 or Pixie8 board from LoR to start with just to try it all out and try to get a better understanding of it all. Thanks for any input that you might have. And if I’m completely wrong or missing something, please let me know. 

RGB: 

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00B4UKG2W/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_awdb_gJK1zbWFS014N

Power Supply:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01HJA3OUG/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_awdb_6KK1zbSK3E7H3

If you want to go the 5V route, you will also need a small (wall wort) 12V aux supply to power the Pixie.

Have you considered that 5V systems need to be kept close to the strings (due to voltage drop)? That you will need power injection for additional strings on the same output.

Have you figured out your enclosure? You need to protect both from the elements and still keep it cool.

I really don’t know anything about RGB or where to start. So I’m guessing the 12v would be better than 5v. That will give me something to shoot for then. I haven’t thought about enclosures yet.