Light-O-Rama Forums

Power Cord

lstewartff

Ok so I am new to all this LOR equipment. I have been doing lights at my house for years but this will be the first time to do it like this. Anyway I know that I will have to use extension cords to run to my lights. So my question is what size cords should I use? I don't remember the exact size of the cords that I have been using but I would assume that  they are either 12/3 or 14/3. Would 16/3 be to small for non LED lights? I am thinking about just buying the cord in a roll and cut to size and put the ends on myself. Thanks for any help.

Edited by lstewartff

Use a good heavy gauge cord to power your controllers, that's where your highest amp draw will be. As far as buying a roll of cord google SPT 1 and SPT 2 cord, a lot of members on this forum make their own cords from that stuff. Due to the fact that my display is 99% LED I wait until the green indoor/outdoor cords go on sale at my local Canadian Tire and use those instead, I usually can get these for $2.50 ea on sale. http://www.canadiantire.ca/en/pdp/outdoor-cord-0522424p.html#srp  Still not as cost effective of making them yourself but easier for me!

I use the ends off old Christmas Light strands for female and male ends, I use lamp cord or the same size wire that light strand cord is if it's feeding a L.E.D. strand, don't need thick heavy cord around if I'm not pulling that much from the controller.   I also use basic household extension cords and cap off any open ends {if the cord doesn't come with its own} using Child Proof Safety Outlet caps in the open female receptacles, also use these caps on any of the make pass through on all my L.E.D. and incandescent light strands as well.

Depending on what I'm attaching to the controller, I may use the thicker gauge outdoor green, yellow or orange extension cords.

Been using this method for going on year 6 now, and have never had any issues.