Light-O-Rama Forums

Create a Matrix in SS

Spud67

I have three CCP controllers and would like the make a matrix sign out of them to run text across to give in formation to the light show guests.

The matrix would be 25 pixels by 12 pixels. The first controller would be on the lower right as it would appear from the front of the matrix.

Should I be using SS for this or PE? Which is easier to use and sequence text with?

I have worked with both a little success. Most of my sequencing is done right now with SS and I have not used PE at all, just learning. I have watched some of the tutorial views on PE but not all of them, so I am still learning.

This is a new prop I want to build and start using next season so there is no rush but I would like to figure it out and get the programming set up in the new year.

Please assist in how I need to set this up in SS or PE.

Thank you in advance and Merry Christmas.

If I were to do that, I would do it in SuperStar.  My other comment is that 25 pixels wide is REALLY short for a matrix to put words onto, IMHO.  I would be looking at fewer rows and make it longer.  Options would be (to keep within your 300 pixels total):  6 x 50, 7 x 42, 8 x 37, 9 x 33, 10 x 20, or 11 x 27.  Obviously 6 x 50 would be the easiest, but six pixels high might also be quite limiting.  The other options require some variety of zig zagging which is not all that hard in software, but without cutting and extending the distance between pixels might be very hard to accomplish (and voiding the warranty).  You can make any arrangement you want in a visualization and import that into SuperStar.  I think you can in PE as well, but I have not really used PE enough to know...

Since I am the programmer for SuperStar I'm a bit partial to SuperStar. But I expect the Pixel Editor would do the job as well.

For superstar do the following, (you may have already done this)

1) Click on the Tools menu and select Layout

2) select CCR Mode

Nbr Of CCRs = 6