Light-O-Rama Forums

lost on this

USCS31

well, this post may or may not belong here. if it doesn't, I do apologize! I have my lor pixel tree up and running (woohoo)! I had purchased two sandevices ps1 units along with rectangular modules. I tried reading the instructions but I'm lost as I'm new to that aspect of thing and I'm trying to learn it. I'm not looking to get them up and running for this years display but I'm hoping to learn and be ready for next years display!!!! I connected one SD ps1 unit via cat5 into a switch. the lights blinked the way they described once a connection is made (inside the ps1 unit). I wanted to run a test to see if my modules would work accordingly but that did not happen! I have pigtails attached to my modules. I am / was trying to use the modules for corostars. I cut sections of 3 modules for each corostar. I soldered the modules at different distances (not exceeding 12 feet) so I could place the stars at different distances when laying them out. I do want to mention that these are "smart" rgb modules. the pigtail that I soldered onto the lights has four wires and the smart rgb's have three. they both have red, green, and blue wires but the pigtail has a black wire (I believe it's the ground). I soldered all the wires except the black wire. when I connected the rgb's and booted the system, I could see the very first module light up faintly. the rest of the modules did not light up. can someone please help me and guide me to what I have to do or tell me what I'm doing wrong? like I said, this is new to me and I'm trying to follow what I'm reading but it's not working too well for me! thank you for your help!

What exact type of intelligent strips/nodes do you have or purchase? They sound like dumb strips instead which use a totally different controller.

A couple of notes: