Light-O-Rama Forums

S4 or Superstar

Mr. P

This year I will be adding 40 smart pixel strings to my display and I am licensed for S3 Advanced. I have been playing and learning nutcracker for the last 5 months and want opinions on what would be the better upgrade, S4 or Superstar. Opinions please.

S4 and Nucracker are two different programs completely and both will control DMX/E1.31. Both will play music and sync lights but they are not the same and S4 does not upgrade xLights. SS is an add-on to the LOR program. Now one of the nice things to do, is create an effect in xLights, export that to LOR's Sequence Editor and use it there however, the new S4, Pixel Editor has many of the same xLights features built into it. I think I read in here that LOR purchased rights to xLights, however I truly don't know that fact or the legalities involved. SS is a powerful program for LOR and you might wish to learn it. Note: The new S4, shortly will require an upgrade license for the PE.

I understand that all three programs are different I am just wanting opinions on what would be easier, stay with the free version of Nutcracker and just convert, upgrade to S4 Pro, or get the Superstar add-on?

Last years display used eight CTB16 controllers and three CMD24 via the USB485. This year I am adding 40 pixel strings via e1.31

I don't know if xLights will control your CTB16 controllers or the CMD24's, so you might need to stay with LOR. I'm sure someone has figured out a way to achieve this with xLights, but I have no clue. My view is based upon picking the LOR system a couple of years ago and sticking with it. I am learning the new things of S4 along with everyone else and I see powerful tools being added such as the PE add-on. Its very apparent that SS is a powerful tool too for pixels, CCR's, CCB's and CCP's. Its up to you, what you like or don't like. Each program has its pros and cons but they are getting better, meaning S4 will improve the experience and capability.

• Like 1