Light-O-Rama Forums

Im not a newbie but still feel like 1 with this question

Christmas_time_karl_UK

After dusting of my LOR storage box I realised I have forgotten quite a bit from last year, so I thought I would post this thought on my mind to have it corrected or affirmed.

I have a CTB16PC which I brought last year and a 16 channel kit board I brought last year.

The CTB16PC can handle a max of 30amps (15 each bank) (with regular heat sink & dual power supply) over its two banks and each channel can handle 8 amps with the regular heatsinks...thus I can only "switch on" 1 full channel using 8 amps and another channel using 7 amps? If I used 16 Amps on 1 side this would blow the fuse?

Thanks

You are correct.

Would 16a blow the fuse? My memory is faded, but I don't think it will for a short period. Any long term use at that rating could blow the fuse, I would suspect.

I know in electrical design, they only want you to go up to about 80% of a rated capacity for safety and other reasons I just don't know.

It has been my experience, though not with LOR, when fuses get to their rated amperage, they will blow. There is not much room for extra voltage unless you have a "slo-blo" fuse.

I have seen a fuse save itself (once or twice) and cause a $$$ motor starter to burn out. After that, I quit using "slo-blo" fuses.

It is my understanding the boards can handle 20amps but they are shipped with 15amp fuses. I've had to pull all my 15amp fuses and put in 20's for this year. Remember you should leave youself some room, when things get wet the amps go up also if somethings been chewing on you display you want the fuse to bolw before it damages the board. I'm only pulling 16amps with everything full on and I'm not adding more. I'm running 79 channels with 72,000 lights and LOR has not broke out in a sweat yet. Contact LOR and they can send you the fuses or do as I did and buy your own.

James Shelby wrote: