Light-O-Rama Forums

Newbie struggling with first song decision

robigd

I am a newbie and have my software, controllers, and have been playing with non-musical sequences for weeks trying to get the hang of it and am ready to hit the ground running. Problem is, I don't know what song to do. The Christmas Vacation theme comes to mind since it is my favorite Christmas movie of all time, but I am not sure if that is a good first song. I am overwhelming myself with song ideas and don't want to do anything totally off the wall until I establish myself as "that is the house that does Christmas light shows".

What do people typically do for their first songs, and what is a realistic song count for someone doing this for their first year?

Thanks!

I'm pretty sure everyone and anyone one time or another have started with a TSO song. Very easy to get WiW sequenced up.

• Like 1

You will have to pick a song that you don't mind hearing a thousand times without going bonkers.  For a first song you should choose something with a strong steady beat, because it will be easier to sequence to.   I think 5 or 6 songs is a good minimum for a first year.  If you have time for more then that's not a bad thing, but think quality over quantity.