Light-O-Rama Forums

Another LED Dimming Thread

iChase

Hello all!

I'm new to LOR and so far I'm loving it. However, I just plugged in all my lights and I'm having some dimming problems. I have all Home Depot Ecosmart LED 50 count strings. When dimming them in the Console they merely flicker with no observable dimming. I'm using Dimmer Curve 1, but it didn't help either. Would a 45k ohm resister at the end of each string help these to dim properly, or is this particular brand unfriendly to dimming?

Thanks!

Chase

Welcome to the forum!

I'm unfamiliar with those specific lights, but many of the consumer-grade LEDs from conventional retailers don't dim well or at all. Many people, including myself, have watched those types of lights fry over the course of a single evening if you're sequencing with lots of fades and shimmers. Those types of LEDs won't be helped at all by adding a resistive load - all you can do with them is on/off, and that gets pretty boring pretty fast for viewers.

A quick way to check is to plug a set of incans into the same channel. If that improves the LED fading, then a snubber is needed. But I suspect that won't happen because the new G3 controllers (assuming that's what you have) have that fix already built in.

Edited by George Simmons

EcoSmart LED strands won't dim. If new return them! Wal-Mart brand{Holiday Time}, Target {Phillips}, Lowes 200 ct LED spools and some of their others dim, some Home Depot LEDs dim, The ones that I know won't that I've found NOT to buy are Martha Stewart and EcoSmart brands, they won't dim, just flicker off and possibly catch fire. Martha Stewart was reported by a user, don't recall if LOR, but had a set literally catch fire when trying to dim them during tests.

Edited by Orville

I've read this same subject post too many times and unfortunately for the OP already purchased LEDs that won't dim. Maybe a good idea to have a sticky to list all led brands that will...and will not fade??