Light-O-Rama Forums

FM Broadcasting (great way to be heard)

PMC

This is for the people that think they need 5,10,25,50 or 100 watts for their lightshow to be heard in visual range of their house......beat this FM facility

I don't know Paul. Looks like it takes too many lights for that tower.

I thought that I saw a drop of bird poop on the tower that is probably causing some harmonics problem with the sound as well - LOL.

I am no expert, but maybe you could broadcast something a little more than 2ch audio threw that setup. How much trouble can happen, if you get hungry and pop some popcorn in a microwave in there?

What about the take off angle of the lobes? Are people able to hear the transmitter if the take off angle is to high? Do, they need to sit back about a mile to hear the music and use binoculars to see the show?

Thanks for the tour. I didnt catch the plate voltage and current. I used to work on a ??? 208U3 H.F. amp 2700V 1.5A. Kicked out a 3KW signal on 3-30MHz, self tuning.

I see EDM just added this setup to their website, but it says it is not to be used in the United States. I have therefore notified the proper government authorities and you can expect a visit from the men in black suits. I believe the current fine for such an infraction is they take your birthday away for a period of 3 years.

amcdonald307 wrote:

I believe the current fine for such an infraction is they take your birthday away for a period of 3 years.
Darn...You found the fountain of youth :) Where can I find a million mega watt transmitter :P

wbottomley wrote:

Let me guess... 25 or 50KW station? This is strictly looking at the antenna array (ERP).

TPO (Transmitter Power Output) = 20.2 kW

WLTJ-FM Technical Info:
Station Status Licensed Class B
Effective Radiated Power 43,000 Watts
Height above Avg. Terrain 260 meters (853 feet)
Height above Ground Level 162 meters (531 feet)
Height above Sea Level 564 meters (1850 feet)
Antenna Pattern Non-Directional