Light-O-Rama Forums

Sequencing Software for Grid of CCRs

BrianBruderer

I bought 12 Cosmic Color Ribbons to be rays coming down from a star. CCRs have tremendous potential when using the full 50 pixels per ribbon but I soon found that sequencing them the standard way was difficult. I was not able to get anything ready in time for last Christmas, but I am determined to get this working well before 2010 Christmas.

Being a programmer by profession I started developing sequencing software designed just for a grid of CCRs. There are some very good sequence editors out there but I am not aware of one made just for a grid of CCRs.

My design principle is to never directly edit the standard .lms file. Instead, I have a meta file which is the source file for the effects. The effects can be exported as an .lms file and then they are playable by the standard Light-O-Rama sequence editor.

You can see 2 videos which are examples of what I have done so far by going to youtube and searching for Cosmic Color Ribbon. Or you can use the links below:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xDhMO2KcLcw

Does anyone know if there is already software to do something similar to what I am doing?

-Brian Bruderer

• Replies 40
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• BrianBruderer

• LightORamaJohn

• Dad02

• huskernut

Brian -- Excellent work !!! -- We all need an easier way to program CCRs as last Christmas was pretty hard and defaulted to Macro Mode for me. Where can I find info on the other sequence editors out there? I never enjoy having to recreate everything every year when I add new channels .. something to make editing easier is always nice.

Keep up the great work.

Ok the text thing is stunning!! Great job on that.

As melwelch said, LSP has a matrix animator that is difficult to use. Frankly I think LSP has a long way to go before its up to S2's speed. I really hope with the addition of the RGB picker LOR also implements some sort of matrix animator as well.