Light-O-Rama Forums

Acceptable time to put up lights?

Guest guest

Being a first year newbie here, when will everyone begin putting up their LOR controlled Christmas displays this year? I was thinking begining November. Is this too early or not early enough.

(Yes, I know it's only July, lol)

Thanks,

Luke

i usually start the weekend before thanksgiving.. but since i have alot more lights this year i am going start the 1st of november so i can test all my sequences and get all the bugs worked out and make any changes if necessary.. I guess i really depends on how many lights you have and what part of the country you live in...:laughing:

I will start around the 2nd week in Nov. I'm not sure when I will turn everything on.

Maybe the day after Thanksgiving or maybe the 1st week in Dec. I will have around 30-35k of lights and 16 channels of LOR.

50k and 96 channels, and planning on starting the first weekend of Nov. or the last weekend of Oct. Plus my father-in-law decided to order 32 channels so I am sure I will end up helping him put lights up also.

Jeff_Womack wrote:

This year I will start around 1 Oct

I agree with Jeff. I'll probably start then as this is the first time I'll be running all this wire. I'd really like to be able to turn it on the day after Thanksgiving. I can't wait!!!!:laughing:

jeff

I will start on the roof the third week of Oct. Then just keep adding from there. I usually take my first week vacation starting the Friday before Thanksgiving and have everything ready for testing Thanksgiving night. Keep in mind that I start at dawn and finish after dark for about 10 days straight.

I start putting up the weekend before Thanksgiving, with a schedule turn on date of the Friday following Thanksgiving. Fortunately for me, I have kids home from college around that time so I can press as many as is needed into service to meet the schedule.