Light-O-Rama Forums

LOR CTB16D wiring question

Guest guest

For about 10 years, I have been using digital I/O to control my Christmas lights but will be using LOR for the first time this year. Therefore, I am an official LOR Newbie.

I ordered (and have received) one board (CTB16D) and 16 power chords without using Save10 (more are on order). Since my digital I/O boards had to stay inside, I’m planning to keep all of my LOR boards inside. (I have enough long extension chords to reach my displays.) I’m planning on using plastic boxes to house the boards. I have a couple of odd questions about wiring it up.

I am not an electrician and would NOT consider trying to install a breaker. However, I have an electrician friend who installs breakers for me and runs enough wire for me to finish the run. I’m comfortable wiring receptacles and switches AS LONG AS THE BREAKER IS OFF!

First, I have two 12-gauge (with ground) wires coming directly from two 20-Amp breakers.

Instead of going out and buying two 20-Amp receptacles, two 20-Amp plugs, more wire and a couple of work-boxes, can I wire directly onto the board? I will use the breakers like an “on-off” switch. 12-gauge wire looks significantly larger than the wire on the 16 outlet chords I bought from LOR. Will the 12-gauge actually fit in the terminal plugs for hot and neutral??

The board has a nice offset to a piece of heavy gauge metal. Does the metal plate need to be offset to the plastic box because of heat?? Do I need small holes in the plastic boxes to help get the heat out??

Second, if I put a screw, washers and a nut through the two holes in the front of the metal housing, attach the grounds from the 12-gauge and 8 output wires on each side, will this ground the board???

Thanks,

Ralph