Light-O-Rama Forums

Programing Sequences

Guest guest

I am wondering the best way to try and start programing sequences. Do you start with one effect and then move on to the next or try and do everything at once? I have a pretty large display but this is my first year to computerize with LOR. I have 216 channels available and figure I will probably use around 120.

Thanks for any insight.

Brian

I'm in the same boat.

Here's what I've done so far:

Setup a spreadsheet labeling all channels, short description, amp draw and LOR unit.
I sort this list by LOR unit then move the various channel descriptions around to plan for cords and power requirements. Once I have that squared away I start labeling the channels in the LOR software. I start with setting up the "change channel settings" because it will over write channel names when you pick the number of channels. Then I set the name and color. (time consuming for 200+ channels) I work this all in conjunction with the map of my yard and layout of my house. Then I setup the LOR animation to kind of represent my yard, house...
Once the channels are all set and labeled I save (export) the channel configuration so I can use it for the various songs.

Then I load my first song, either tap the beat or pick a standard beat (I forget how).

Then I start programming by using a small number of lights and building up more lights using the animation to kind of get an idea what it will look like.

So far it's a lot of work but my 12 year old goes "Wow" every time time I show him a new revision.

Kevin