Light-O-Rama Forums

Electrical Question

Guest guest

Hi guys,

Attached is the layout of my house and LOR setup. I have a question on the electrical from the power box to the LOR's. I am using the the 16 channel Deluxe LOR's.

I have an existing power line which is 12/3 from the power box to a breaker for my sprinkler pump at the front of the garage. This will not be used at the time of the display. I will be adding a junction box there.

You can see the distance from the power box to the junction box. Then from the front of the garage to another junction box on the front porch and then to the 5 individual LOR units. You can also see the distance for each of them in my image.

Would like to know if you think that going with 12/3 is too much or not enough?

Thanks in advance!

Attached files 52195=3054-lor-1.gif

I'm by no means an electrician but I have a little knowledge of it.

Well I guess it depends on how many lights you'll have per LOR box.

If I was doing the exact same thing, I would run seperate 10/3 w/ground to each controller. The max amps per LOR controller is 40 amps (20 amps each side) which is what I would go off of.

You have 5 LOR controllers. I would run 5 different circuits 10/3 wire to each LOR controller and hook to 30 amp breakers (2 30 amp breakers for each LOR box).

This is only my thoughts so it might not hurt to get a second opinion.

Edit: when I mentioned running 10/3 to each controller, I should say an double outlet box to each controller that the controllers can be plugged. Using MC cable, it's flexible and can be rolled up after each season and hung by the C/B panel. Or build 5 dual outlet boxes next to the C/B panel and run extension cords to the controllers.

Tom