Light-O-Rama Forums

Halloween Pumpkin Choir

VespaGuy

The summer zipped right by - it's hard to believe falls almost here. I may be getting a late start, but I'm thinking of putting together my first Halloween Light-O-Rama display this year. I've already got a bunch of pumpkins ready to go, but I have a few questions for anyone who has made a pumpkin chorus display before.

- What kind of lighting do you use for inside the pumpkins?

- Is there any way to use Light-O-Rama for motion control? I am going to attempt to use a hacked skull using a simple DC adapter to open/close the mouth (power=open;no power = closed). I'm fairly new to this, so I know next to nothing about servos, etc. I was just looking for a simple motion controller that could be used for back/forth single axis movement (make a tombstone or pumpkin sway to the song).

Thanks!! I'm sure I'll have more questions as I go, but any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks for the info!

I just ordered a 16 channel set from Light-O-Rama to get started and I've already begun playing with the software.

I opened a Gemmy skull and connected a DC adapter directly to the DC motor. Plug it in, the mouth opens; unplug it, the mouth closes. I imagine that I should be able to plug this in just like a light now as opposed to using a DC card, right?

Any feedback on what type of lights/bulb people use in pumpkin choirs? Standard bulbs? Candelabra bulbs? Floods?

Thanks again!

Thanks for all the info. I got my Light-O-Rama set and so far, so good. I've been testing the Gemmy skull with a simple wall adapter and it's been working pretty good, but I'll look into the DC card. (I'm admittedly ignorant of electronics, so I'm a little hesitant to spend money on something that I may not have any idea how to use.)

BobinFL - So, candelabra bulbs are the way to go. What are you using to hold them? Are you using something standard, or did you hack something (like one of those christmas "candles")