Light-O-Rama Forums

FM Transmitter

Linda

I just bought a Whole House Transmitter but haven't got it in yet to test it. I want to be able to transmit at least a block. I know it says it only transmits 150 feet but that some have got it to go further than that. I visited a display last year that transmitted about three blocks and was really clear, but I don't have the kind of money it takes to buy one of those. It was a Ramsey I think. I rigged up a little Belkin like I had seen suggested and can only get about two houses on either side of me. :) If that's the best this Whole House one will do I may as well get a refund. Is the Whole House capable of better than 150 feet with an antenna maybe? Thanks for any suggestions. I'm a newbie too.

It seems as if the range depends a lot on the area and the radio activity in the area. The range can be increased somewhat by increasing the length of the antenna. If you do increase the length you need to exactly double the lenght. Shorter or longer will potentially shorten the range. The antenna is "tuned" to the frequency range.

Legal transmitters simply do not have much range as per FCC regulations.

Dan

Thank you. I didn't know it mattered how long the antenna was, but if I need to lengthen it I'll be sure to remember that. Do you have any idea when the 2008 contest winner's videos will be available for viewing on the LOR website? I'm just now getting aquainted with my new 16 channel controller and hope I'm up to the challenge of being able to create my own show. I know I'm way ahead of myself but was wondering why the sound in some videos are better than others and what's the best way to get good sound when taping the show. Do I need to use outside speakers or is it all in the quality of the camera one uses?

Linda wrote: