Light-O-Rama Forums

LOR Serial Port Failure

lightchaser01

Hello to all. First off....I'm a Newbie.

So here's my problem.

I just finished my first CTB16pc controller from kit form. Everything was hooked up and I was able to have a sequence work through the controller. No problems. I then disconnected my USB controller from the PC.

However, when I reconnected the USB connector a second time, I received an error message that reads "open of serial port failed". The Trace message is: lnit Light-O-Rama port/LOR channelIO

I rechecked all my connections; I checked my Comm port on the PC and it says port is working. I went into LOR hardware utility; re-entered my Comm port as well as controller ID. The controller LED went from flashing to solid ON. My lights work when I place them in a test mode. However, when I close out the Utility program, the LED blinks and therefore is not communicating with my PC. I also took the jumper connection off JO; powered up for a few seconds, then powered off and replaced the jumper. I retried the process again and still no luck.

I'm a little frustrated seeing everything worked well the first go around. But since then, I'm in the dark.

Can anyone help?? :?

Bill

I also am having trouble, I hooked up my new 16d cards and connected to pc. When I do a comm port auto config it will not find it, I set it to comm 4 and the unit works dureing test but can not be found when I hunt for units. Any advise..

There may be two separate issues here...