Light-O-Rama Forums

New song ideas for Christmas 2009

ShowProKevin

Well after typing this whole post the first time, IE crashed. GRRR. So here we go agian--quick and dirty.

I have been using TSO songs for a few years now and I have my favorites. But this year I decided I will drop my less favorite songs from my lineup. Of course, Christmas Eve and Wizards will always be classics, but I want to venture out into new genres. I have seen some techno (mostly just Jingle Bells) and some Mannheim Steamroller.

Does anyone have any new song ideas (and where to find this music) that are not the traditional TSO lightshow?

Why restrict yourself to traditional Christmas music? I will be adding some more 80's music next year. I shorten my music anyway to a half dozen 90 - 120 sec 80's songs would be good.

Well thats what Im saying... I want to do the non traditional stuff as well. I know it has been done. I am just asking for people to share artists and albums where they have heard good instrumental music that would work for LOR shows.

Been working on starting all new songs. I also have decided to eliminate all my TSO type songs, and going 100% 70's and 80's classic songs for 2009. doing ones like frosty, chipmunks, Santa coming to town, etc... Actually finding easier to program, songs are shorter, and have a easy beat and rymthem.

This will be my first year. I am going to have to do TSO Christmas cannon. Cannon is one of my favs and once I hear the Christmas Cannon I just have to do this. But one of my others will be Snoopy's Christmas. I wonder if the barking dogs doing Jingle Bells would work. I need to dig this up and see how it sounds and if I could do this to lights.

Max