Light-O-Rama Forums

Winding muticolor arches

beeiilll

I am beginning to put together a couple of 20 foot arches and wanted to ask which is easier when putting the strings on.

Is it easier to wind one set of lights onto the pipe and then go back and wind the other set on?

Or do any of you twist the 2 strings of lights together as a "superstring" and then wind them onto the pipe?

I am using gray 1" sch 40 electric conduit for the pipe (I'm an electrician so I have plenty of it lying around :D) and I was going to make these as 16 segments of each color on each arch (ie 16 strings of 70 count M5 blue and 16 strings of 70 count M5 white for one arch. The other arch will be blue and green M5's).

I have set up a winding jig for it using a slow speed motor and sawhorses and empty spools from spt wire (seems we use a lot of that doesn't it) for guides. It works fine, but when I tried to wind one string and then go back and wind another string on top of the first string, it didn't come out even at the end. I had about a foot and a half of the second string yet to wind when I came to the end of the first string. Yet the strings of lights are the same length.:?

Hence I was wondering about twisting the two strings together before winding them onto the conduit.

Thanks for the help.

Bill

What we found is that if you bundle all the lights together and try to wind at the same time, they get tangles over each other.

We added color to our arch's that are on 1 channel per color. So the is 8 channels of white (by section) and then the whole arch is 1 channel for red, blue and green. This way I can sequence by color, and then have the arch "leap" with white.

Good Luck

Scott

Putting on two or more strings of lights makes a 20 foot arch very heavy. The wire load is the problem.

Two ideas:

1. Take the extra wire out of each string only used to to put the AC on the female receptacle, normally you do not need the receptacle on a arch if you are using one string per channel.