Light-O-Rama Forums

Where do I even begin?

Kim Campbell

I want to set up a musical light display for next Christmas but have no idea where to start! What controller do I buy? I have no electrical background at all so I was thinking about a plug and play system from LOR. I am considering a 32 channel "Showtime" package but I don't know if that is too much for a newbie. Should I get and 15 amp or 30 amp? Should I scale back to a 16 channel or maybe even and 8 channel? I tend to want to go whole hog or none so I think I wouldn't be happy with and 8 or a 16. Then what lights do I buy? Should I use the standard minilights or LED's? I think I would prefer LED's because if I understand anything I've read so far they use less power and besides I think they are much prettier than the minilights. How many lights will I be able to use? I don't quite understand the concept of amps per channel or wattage or voltage! Will I be able to set up my own sequences with music or can I buy pre-programmed ones? I'm a bit confused! I think it will take me the whole year just to figure this out. HELP! :shock:

Kim Campbell wrote: