Light-O-Rama Forums

Weird timing issue on sequenced songs...

walverson

I am a newbie. This is my forayinto making a light show with LOR products. I have a 32 channel system and have sequnced 4 songs in MP3 format so far. I have definitely encountered the variable bit rate problem on 2 songs but was too far into the songs to try and resequence them with a constant bit rate version of the MP3 file. It obviousuly makes it hard since I find the waveform to be the most useful part in trying to pick out different parts of the song when sequencing, so I just go by the sound and the channel list lighting up as my guide.

Here is my issue. It takes awhile to create one of the sequences and I make sure to hit the beats dead on. I am sequencing in 10 second chunks or less and use the channel listed on the left hand side of the sequencing window as a guide to see how well I am hitting the beats(The channel lighting up feature when you are playing a song. I find this better than the animation). This translates well to when I view the actual lights being controlled. Everything is dead on then I play the whole song from beginning to end and the beginning starts out fine but by the end of the song the lights are slowly getting off beat. What is even more aggravating is if I play just a small section of the places that seem off in the long program, it is dead on when just playing a small section. It is just when I play the whole song that this issue occurs.

I haven't read all the forum postings yet, but the ones I have read all talk about using WAV files. Is this the only solution? Is there a way to salvage what I have without spending a lot of time? I don't have much left.

Any information is appreciated.

Thanks,

Warren