Light-O-Rama Forums

How Firefly and LED's could impact LOR Hardware

dugsterm

I have been sitting on the fence for a couple of years and finally got pulled off during a sale this summer and now I'm a 16 channel newbie/starter. Reading postings about the d-light Firefly and issues with LED's in these forums confirms my fears that I am getting in at the end of an era and just before a new one has organized.

When one 'set of lights' (the Firefly) for $160 uses 48 channels and can control them without needing three 16 channel LOR boxes that would cost over $600 it's a game changer. Sure, today we are talking 48 pixels, not 48 strings of lights (or trees, or figures, etc.), but it seems pretty clear that the technology of an LOR Controller is often overkill for the needs we have. 16 channels of single strands of LED's will waste a lot of capacity even with a 'smaller' 15 amp unit and having to add snubbers just to help get keep enough current flowing to keep fades fading smoothly demonstrates how things here are changing.

A major frustration that delayed my purchase was the cost of doing even a simple light show when looking at the cost just to start at 16 channels. Heck, many of you are using 10 channels just for one arch! The lower power consumption of LED's and controllers like that used in the Firefly should have a MAJOR impact on the hardware like LOR controllers and will certainly up the ante on demand for different features such as control of multiple colors and software to program them. It appears that the technology is ready to explode at an incredible rate but can producers of the hardware and software keep up? I don't know.

I have no regret in purchasing my LOR Controller and believe it will be a very exciting time to see how the technology explodes and to be part of it as it happens.

--DugsterM