Light-O-Rama Forums

Intelligent RGB pixels - partial strands not working

Zano

This is my first year trying to run with smart RGB's.  I have 2x E1.31 RGB16 controllers.  One of them runs RGB ribbons and I have no problems with those.  My 2nd controller runs WowLights Intelligent RGB Pixels 50ct strands, with 1 strand per output.  My shows run fine and do what they are supposed to, but I am slowly losing partial pixel strands.  The first night, all seemed to be working.  The 2nd night, I noticed that the second half of one of the strands was completely out, not working.  The next night, about a quarter of a different strand had stopped working.  Now tonight, a 3rd strand has about 5 or 6 pixels that are not working.

Could I be doing something wrong to cause these to stop working?  Could I be overloading them somehow?  Is there a way to 'reset' them or are they gone for good?  Again, I am new to this so I am sure I am missing something.  

Thanks in advance for any help!

I don't think you are alone. Pixel quality has declined drastically in the last 2 to 3 years. I have strings in use from 2012 with no more than a few failures. Last year I had multiple square pixel strings from 2020 fail due to water intrusion. I also have multiple bullet failures on my Peace stake strings, again due to water intrusion but I think that in this case the extra wiring is contributing to the poor sealing.

I am now at the stage where I am testing strings in a bucket of water to weed out the failures.

Note. None of my pixels are from LOR.

LOR strands or 3rd party.

Are you sure you are using the correct voltage. 5V strands may survive a short burst on 12V (still, not a thing you should do)

Have you measured the output of you power supplies? They might not be what they are supposed to be.  Low probably won't do lasting damage.

Also check all port connections. screws get loose, insulation is NOT supposed to be under the screw.