Light-O-Rama Forums

G4 MP3 Director - Power

KLP66

Hello all, very much newbie here.  Just unpacked all my new lights, controller (Pixie8) and G4 MP3 Director.

I was able to connect to my Controller, and ID it and find the network, I connected one string of lights and tested them out.  I then proceeded to try and connect the director the controller.  I set up the controller through my laptop, which will not be running the lights, but I have built the light program already.  

When I connect the Director to the Controller it is not powering up, from the documentation I understand the controller should be able to power the Director.  Any ideas on why it will not power up through the network ports?  I tried my 50' cable provided, and additional other cables that I have on hand.

Thanks in advance.

What kind of controller is the closest, and how long of a cable between it and the director?  As I recall, the docs say 25 feet (don't hold me to that, I don't use a Director).

I have a couple of pixie 8s but don’t use them for accessory power to the director. 

i think the Pixie has to be running in 12V mode (not 5V) and you have to install Jumper JP2 (or something like that). I can check the manual tomorrow unless someone else knows for sure. 

• Like 1

If connecting Director to first controller (New Pixie8) you must install a Jumper on JP2 header on the New Pixie8 Board - (to pass Aux Power)

Edited by Jimehc

7 hours ago, MattJ said:

I have a couple of pixie 8s but don’t use them for accessory power to the director. 

i think the Pixie has to be running in 12V mode (not 5V) and you have to install Jumper JP2 (or something like that). I can check the manual tomorrow unless someone else knows for sure. 

Thanks for the heads up, I must have read right over this. 
Thank you.