Music Sequencer

Guest guest

John Pidliskey wrote:

When using the Music Sequencer, Which do you prefer:

1. Tapping out the beat

2. Using 1/10 sec

3. Other

Seems using 1/10 sec would be best...

I have used 0.2 for Trans Siberian Orchestra songs (Christmas Eve Sarajevo and Wizards in Winter).

On others, I will tap the songs as many times as I need. Example: I have a song that has a good bluesy beat and I have it tapped. There is a lead singer with backup vocals that I also have tapped.

I am not sure how to import one into the other without erasing one, so, I copy the times and manually insert timing for when I want it. It may sound time consuming, but it is (for me) more efficient than listening to the same 4-5 seconds of song over and over again to determiine precise placement.

Although I am very new at this, starting the middle of April, it is easiest for me to use two computers. I load the song into the LOR Sequencer and also load it on another computer into Audacity. Using the waveform produced by Audacity, I can see more easily where I want to put the events. I look at the time marks there and then input the event into the Sequencer on the other computer. I imagine you could do this with one computer if you had two monitors hooked up to it, but I just use my laptop and the desktop.

Denny

Robin wrote:

Actually I use 0.05 plus tapping.

That's what I use, too. Up to this point, I've only experimented with it, but this year I will definitely be using at least a couple of synchronized songs, so the experimentation has (slowly but surely) paid off.

I use #2 also. I set default to 1/10th and then if there is a section of the song that requires faster timing, I just insert events until I have it the way I want it. If that section is repeated later in the song, I just copy the timing, then copy the programming. Works pretty good for me. I tried the tapping a few times, but not enough to get proficient at it.