Light-O-Rama Forums

Computer problems.

cbelt4

I am still a newbie. So I figure I should post this here.

The computer I use for my show is showing its age. My question is if I dump this computer. So I want to return to windows 7 and of course windows will upgrade to 10 I believe.

Will I lose my sequences or is that saved in the hub? ( not on my computer right now).

First thing you need to do is insure you Back Up all of your sequences and I'd suggest, back up all LOR files. Make sure they are placed somewhere else, not on that computer. Such as a portable drive or a flash drive, cloud or whatever be your choice. You can do as you wish for your computer but returning to Windows 7 when you already are running Windows 10 and LOR 5.6.8 was already working fine on Windows 10, seems like a huge step backwards too me. In my opinion, you "might" induce" greater problems.

Have you allowed the system upgrades to take place from Microsoft? Are you keeping your AV software up too date? You didn't say what the computer is doing or not doing so its difficult to diagnose via this method. One thing I can suggest, if you know how, open a command prompt window and enter the following command without the quotes: "sfc /scannow" the touch the enter or return button. It'll take some time, but let it run. If you don't know, the sfc stands for "System File Check". There is another method if all else fails, you can use MS's Media Creation Tool. It will generate a new OS without wiping out your personal files or programs, essentially curing any MS ills, however I still strongly suggest you back up first.

As dgrant said, going back to 7 from 10 doesn't make much sense. !0 is every bit as good as 7 and can be made to look and behave almost identical.

Windows 7 is way past ant support or updates now and can put you at risk online.