Light-O-Rama Forums

Questions about power injecting with WS2811 string lights

mf64

I’m just starting out in diy Christmas light shows. I usually use store bought lights but want to challenge myself. I found some WS2811 Rextin lights on Amazon they are 12v but they are wired for JST SM and are 3 pin. With 20AWG wire, 50 pixels per string, 60mA, 0.3w/LED. Im trying to join 10 together into one string, each string is 12ft. I have not been able to understand exactly how to physically attach power from a wall outlet to these lights. I’m not sure if there’s something else that I am missing. No matter how many YouTube vids I watch it’s not clear enough. I have found a compatible controller already the SP108E. I know there are many ways of power injecting. I just can’t find one that makes sense. I’m also a little confused with the light connectors. When power injecting do the connectors at the end of each string need to be modified in any way for injecting? I want to go to 20 strings eventually. I am also not sure if using a single power source is better or should I use multiple sources. It’s for wrapping around a tree over 100 ft tall. If anyone has any tips or information it would be greatly appreciated.