Light-O-Rama Forums

DMX Newbie

c7williams

HI All, 

I am totally brand new to DMX. I ordered 3 of these https://magicallightshows.com/collections/products/products/magicolour-hg230b-beam-v2 moving head lights. 

Aubrey pointed me to https://www1.lightorama.com/PDF/MovingHeadLights-S5.pdf?fbclid=IwAR24iENWI0IQc9NP-X0NFXHWdoiXtW-NMnDtYPQBed6VZ_WrfJvq9jSIrmA on how to set up these lights with LOR. However I have a few questions. 

1) Will I only need 1 of the iDMX1000 adapters or will I need one per light? https://store.lightorama.com/collections/computer-adapters-and-repeaters/products/smdmxin

2) Based off the manual it looked like the iDMX1000 has an RJ45 in/out on one side and a DMX in/out on the other side. This leads me to think i will need 1 adapter per light but looking at the iDMX1000 it looks like its not a weatherproof device. Should it be stored inside with XLR cables running to the lights?

3) Best place to order XLR cables

4) Will I need male to female cables to connect into the MagiColour 230 beams?

Thanks in advance

31 minutes ago, c7williams said:

1) Will I only need 1 of the iDMX1000 adapters or will I need one per light?

Only one.

My opinion, unless you like spending lots of money, the iDMX1000 is a very expensive way to get a DMX signal.  There are other ways that cost hundreds of dollars less.  Tell us what your network arrangement is and we can give suggestions.

31 minutes ago, c7williams said:

3) Best place to order XLR cables

Lots of places, but here are a couple:

Monoprice - https://www.monoprice.com/category/cables/pro-audio-cables/dmx-cables

FullCompass.com - https://www.fullcompass.com/category/accessories/cables-snakes/microphone-cables/xlr-to-xlr/

I get connectors and build cables as needed.

34 minutes ago, c7williams said:

4) Will I need male to female cables to connect into the MagiColour 230 beams?

Each hop from device to device will have a male on one end and female of the other end.