Light-O-Rama Forums

Regular Light o Rama and Pixel combined

OgeXam

Greetings,

I have been using Light o Rama for about 8 years now, and each year I add something new.  I am up to 6 controller boxes now.

I was looking at the signing faces that are RGB Pixel controlled. 

I have all my sequences programmed and I am comfortable with them.

Is it easy to add in a Pixel element into those shows?  Is it as easy as adding another box?  Anyboyd have them mixed and have any advice?

Thank you,

Wesley

If you still have a Basic license as your profile states you will need to upgrade if you are going to get into pixels.

11 minutes ago, Mr. P said:

If you still have a Basic license as your profile states you will need to upgrade if you are going to get into pixels.

I think the profile is wrong. because Basic would not run 6 LOR AC boxes

OgeXam You will also need to get another  adapter (High Speed. We used to refer to them as RED, But LOR seems to make them in black now. Be sure to mark them). as Pixels need lots of fast data.  Besides, you probably do NOT have Gen3 controllers, so those  MUST run on a slower network.

Hello TheDucks,

How can I find out what Gen my current controllers are?

When you say adapter do you mean the show time part that I put my SD card in to run my show?  Can you link  me to products?   Taht way I can see how much it would end up costing me to move up to pixel.

thank you,

Wesley

There are two ways to determine the generation of the controllers: 1) It will tell you in the HU when you do a search for the controllers or 2) It is printed on the actual controller board itself.

LEDs - red (old) vs green (G3 and higher) are a good hint for controllers and as noted, the G3 say that right on the board.