Light-O-Rama Forums

Future LOR Hardware Plans

NeilM

I have been using LOR since 2007. I still have several of the old deluxe blue boards that have performed well. I just ordered 3 new green board kits because I am expanding the display. My question may seem weird, but I am wondering what the future holds for LOR and the green board controllers. I am asking because this year will be year 16 for my display. I am not sure how many more years I will be doing the display because at 58 years old it is getting gradually harder to set up. I am thinking maybe go to 20 years and call it a day. My plan at that point would be to sell most or all of the controllers, cords, lights etc. I would still keep some lights and maybe a couple to do an animation or something, but not sure. However, if the controllers are going to be more or less obsolete by then, it would be hard to find a buyer. Any plans on major changes that would impact my ability to sell my stuff in the next 4-6 years?

If you would rather email a response, I would understand. 

I hate to break this to you but the Blue boards and the Green board kits are pretty much obsolete now. Those boards do not work with the higher speeds that LOR is geared towards now and unless you are a brand spanking new lighter just starting out with limited funds most don't use the lower speed boards anymore. Most people are looking for the Gen 3 boards so they can use the faster speeds with today's networks. I am not saying nobody out there uses them anymore but compared to just five years ago there are way fewer people interested in them.

• Like 1

22 hours ago, NeilM said: