Light-O-Rama Forums

Strobe Problem

J.D.

Hi folks,

Need some emergency help here. I've had my display up for a few days now and experimenting here and there (it's my first year). The LOR system is working predictably well. Today I installed about 34 strobes (about half the number I plan) and put them all on one channel (the rest will go on another channel - basically front and back of the yard). Anyway, tonight after it got dark, I fired up the strobe channel by itself. They all worked but I had eight to ten other channels aross the yard that also flickered. At first, I thought it was crosstalk since I had just bundled several cables including the LOR Cat-5 cable across a sidewalk. But after diagnosing the problem, the extra channels only flicker when the strobes are on. Anyone have a solution to this? I'd hate to lose my strobes. They really look nice...

J.D.

J.D. -

Have you tried replacing the strobes with a standard load of minis or C9s and verifying that the strobes are causing the problem? I would check this first to make sure there is not a problem with that channel, and not the strobes. I think I saw something similar to this problem recently in a thread here, but cannot locate it right now.

D.T.

• 2 weeks later...

Hi all,

I just wanted to close out this problem. Someone on the PC forums suggested I try going from the LOR Controller dongle to a relay, that then controls when the strobes turn on and off (using a different power outlet). I went out last night and bought an $8.95 DPDT relay from Radio Shack, soldered a few plugs to it, and hooked everything up. Low and behold, it worked beautifully. No more crosstalk to other channels when the strobes flash.

J.D.