Light-O-Rama Forums

Alternatives to FM?

NV1985

Hi!   I was curious if anyone knows of any alternatives to using an FM transmitter for the music on their displays?  We had some issues last year with ours, mostly just couldn't find a channel that didn't get interference sometimes.   I didn't know if there was a way to setting up streaming or blue tooth etc that people could listen through their phones.  I'm not very tech savvy, so we're going to just do FM again this year.  I thought I would ask around though so I can look into options for next year.   

Not that uses equipment that your viewers would have when they drive up.  Bluetooth is not designed for point to multi-point, has too short of useful range (unless everyone is walking through your small display), would require viewers to figure out how to pair with your transmitter, and lastly introduces delay that would make your music out of sync with the lights.  I can give a lot more detail on that last one if desired.  Streaming protocols add massive delay (a few seconds to tens of seconds).

There are audio distribution system that are real time - commonly used for meeting rooms for use by hard of hearing people.  Those either use dedicated radio channels or infrared light for distribution.  They work well, but would require that viewers get the right receiver from you before they can listen and hopefully you get the receiver back before they leave.

Blutooth has an open air-line of sight range of ~30'.

It also needs to be 'paired' (not a broadcast)

An isolated (Access point, that is not connected to you houses network) WiFi needs the user to link up THEN have an app that is compatible with what you send.

Again, not for the novice viewer.

Radio is something all have used. It is simple to tune.